

Council Highlights

November 24, 2006 council meeting

2005-2006 college councillors

District 6 (President)	John Hope
District 1	Randy Konrad
District 2	Amin Bardai
District 3	Barry Wilson
District 4	Erica Gregory
District 5	Rita Thomson
District 7	Carol Gee
Dean (UBC)	Robert Sindelar
Gov't Appointee	Marina Ma
Gov't Appointee	Winnie Wong
Gov't Appointee	Michael MacDougall
Gov't Appointee	Margaret Cleaveley

John.Hope@fraserhealth.ca 06177@cpbc.napra.ca aminbardai@shaw.ca wilsonbar@shaw.ca ericagregory@look.ca mezcalmike@telus.net Carol.Gee@northernhealth.ca sindelar@interchange.ubc.ca mma@uniserve.com winnieywong@yahoo.com theccm@telus.net mjc79@telus.net

Email distribution reminder: final hardcopy mailing

This is the final issue of Council Highlights that will be distributed by regular mail. Beginning in February 2007, registrants will receive an email with a link to Council Highlights, which is posted on the college's website. Does the college have your current email address? To check this or to update your email address, visit www.bcpharmacists.org, and click on the eServices logo. This will allow you to provide us with the email address of your choice.

New councillors

District 2 councillor-elect Bev Harris and District 6 councillor-elect James Kim attended as observers.

Desired outcomes policy review

Desired outcomes (DOs) policies have been part of the college's governance model for 10 years. With the introduction of council's strategic planning directions earlier this year, a review of the existing DOs was necessary. Council approved changes to policies on professionalism and pharmacy technicians. A full description appears in the meeting minutes posted at http://www.bcpharmacists.org/resources/councilcommittees/council/.

Pharmacy technicians

Following a staff presentation on a pharmacy technician business case analysis, council approved Phase 2 of the pharmacy technician accreditation/registration initiative. This December 2006 to December 2007 process will include: a survey on the number of B.C. pharmacy technicians; a plan for moving to a regulatory model of practice for pharmacy technicians; and potential funding sources.

Telepharmacy

Council approved in principle a planned expansion of telepharmacy to a community pharmacy site as a pilot project with the results to be presented to council at the conclusion of the pilot phase.



Council Highlights

Rules amendments

To provide clarification on the college's resolutions process, council approved several amendments to the rules of the College of Pharmacists of British Columbia. Changes include noting the nonbinding nature of resolutions, and replacing the words "member," "members," and "membership" with "registrant," and "registrants."

Temporary registration

To ensure pharmacy can contribute to the health-care needs of B.C. citizens following a serious emergency or catastrophic event, council approved bylaw changes to permit the college registrar to provide temporary registration of pharmacists based on specific criteria.

Bylaw 7 amendments

The changes that allow nurse practitioners in B.C. to authorize prescriptions have also resulted in a change for some registered nurses. RNs working in licensed community care facilities are now permitted to administer Schedule II, Schedule III and unscheduled drugs after making a nursing diagnosis. For pharmacy legislation to reflect this, council approved Bylaw 7 amendments on nursing-initiated activities. A full description appears in the meeting minutes posted at http://www.bcpharmacists.org/resources/councilcommittees/council/.

Drug Schedule Regulation amendments

Council approved a number of recommended amendments to the Drug Schedules Regulation; the full list of recommended amendments appears in the meeting minutes, posted at http://www.bcpharmacists.org/resources/councilcommittees/council/.

2007 council meeting and AGM dates

The following dates have been set for council meetings in 2007: February 9, May 4, June 22, September 21, and November 23. The college's annual general meeting is set for November 24, 2007.

College appointments

Council approved the appointment of the following representatives to college committees and external organizations:

- Ashifa Keshavji Canadian Council on Continuing Education in Pharmacy (CCCEP).
- James Kim Canadian Society of Hospital Pharmacists B.C. branch (CSHP-BC).
- Registrar/deputy registrar CPBC/CDSBC joint venture management committee.
- Bev Harris inquiry committee.
- Heather Baxter inquiry committee chair.
- Erica Gregory National Association of Pharmacy Regulatory Authorities (NAPRA).