

Council Highlights

September 22, 2006 council meeting

2005-2006 college councillors

5	
District 6 (President)	John Hope
District 1	Randy Konrad
District 2	Amin Bardai
District 3	Barry Wilson
District 4	Erica Gregory
District 5	Rita Thomson
District 7	Carol Gee
Dean (UBC)	Robert Sindelar
Gov't Appointee	Marina Ma
Gov't Appointee	Winnie Wong
Gov't Appointee	Michael MacDougall
Gov't Appointee	Margaret Cleaveley

John.Hope@fraserhealth.ca 06177@cpbc.napra.ca aminbardai@shaw.ca wilsonbar@shaw.ca ericagregory@look.ca mezcalmike@telus.net Carol.Gee@northernhealth.ca sindelar@interchange.ubc.ca mma@uniserve.com winnieywong@yahoo.com theccm@telus.net mjc79@telus.net

Email distribution reminder; final hardcopy mailing

This is the final issue of Council Highlights that will be distributed to college registrants by regular mail. Beginning with the Council Highlights for the January 2007 council meeting, registrants will receive an email with a link to Council Highlights, which is posted on the college's website. Now is the time to ensure that the college has an up-to-date email address for you. To check this, visit the college website at www.bcpharmacists.org, and click on the e-Services log. This will allow you to provide us with your personal or work email address if you are not using your NAPRA e-Link account.

Deputy registrar search

An advertisement for the deputy registrar's position has been posted on the college's website. Links to this ad also appear on websites for the BCPhA, NAPRA, and Pharmacy Gateway. Additionally, CSHP advertised the position to its members. The application deadline is October 10; the college hopes to name the new deputy registrar by early November.

Strategic planning

The 2006 strategic plan and the 2004-2007 operational outcomes plan were merged; the new threeyear operational outcomes plan for Mar 1, 2006 – Feb 28, 2009 was presented to council. A strategic planning progress report will be discussed in depth at the November 24 council meeting.

Pharmacy security guidelines

Following a staff presentation on current pharmacy security guidelines, council moved a recommendation that the college's community practice advisory committee develop revised security guidelines for council's consideration.

Pharmacy technician regulation update

The first draft of the business case analysis by the pharmacy technician steering committee has been circulated to committee members and staff pharmacists for review and feedback. A final draft is



Council Highlights

planned for council's consideration at the November 24 council meeting.

College finances

Council approved the 2006-2007 college budget; the registrar was instructed to develop plans for a contingency fund.

College donation

Council approved a \$5,000 donation to the Dr. Peter Jewesson Doctor of Pharmacy Scholarship at UBC.

College awards program

The CPBC awards program received 47 nominations, with 27 of those nominations for the Five Star Pharmacist Award. Council approved and congratulated the following winners:

- Five Star Pharmacist Shakeel Bhatti
- Award of Excellence in Community Pharmacy Practice Agnes Fridl Poljak
- Award of Excellence in Hospital Pharmacy Practice Susanne Moadebi
- Award of Excellence in Long-term Care Pharmacy Practice Elsie Williams

Volunteer honour roll

- *Gold Certificate -* Dianne Kapty
- *Silver Certificate -* 20 volunteers
- Bronze Certificate 129 volunteers

The awards will be presented at the college AGM on November 25.

Drug schedule regulation amendments

Council approved a number of recommended amendments to the Drug Schedules Regulation; the full list of recommended amendments appears in the meeting minutes, posted at http://www.bcpharmacists.org/resources/councilcommittees/council/

Presentations and guest

Council received presentations by Janice Moshenko, director of continuing pharmacy professional development, UBC faculty of pharmaceutical sciences, and Lesley Preston, eHealth drug project manager, Ministry of Health. Dr. David Hill, the new executive director of the Canadian Council for Accreditation of Pharmacy Programs (CCAPP) was introduced by John Hope; Dr. Hill's office is located at the CPBC.

College committees

Council approved Linda Morris, a Fraser Health Authority pharmacist, as the chair of the hospital pharmacy committee. The college's inquiry committee requires participants; interested volunteers should contact the college registrar.